Nerve Injury and Entrapment in the Lower Extremity

  • Yasusuke Hirasawa


The lower limb is innervated by the lumbar plexus and the sacral plexus. The lumbar plexus consists of L2, L3, and L4, which divide to form the lateral cutaneous nerve of the thigh, the femoral nerve, and the obturator nerve. The sacral plexus consists of L4, L5, S1, S2, and S3 and forms the sciatic nerve (Fig. 1).


Sciatic Nerve Tibial Nerve Common Peroneal Nerve Saphenous Nerve Obturator Nerve 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Japan 2002

Authors and Affiliations

  • Yasusuke Hirasawa
    • 1
    • 2
  1. 1.Kyoto Prefectural University of MedicineJapan
  2. 2.Graduate SchoolMeiji University of Oriental MedicineKyotoJapan

Personalised recommendations