Basics of the European Union


The law of the European Community, or the acquis communautaire, consists of three types of legislation. Firstly, there is primary legislation, written down in Treaties. (Treaty of Rome (1957) amended by the Single European Act (1987), the Treaty on European Union - ‘Maastricht Treaty’ (1992), the Treaty of Amsterdam (1997) and the Treaty of Nice (2002). These are to be ratified by the Member States’ national parliaments. They have direct effect5 (unmittelbare Wirkung), meaning that this supra-national law becomes legislation that is to be applied before national courts by national judges.


Member State National Court Qualified Majority National Parliament European Constitution 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Deutscher Universitäts-Verlag | GWV Fachverlage GmbH, Wiesbaden 2007

Personalised recommendations