In communication systems, it is crucial that the interface which controls the information exchange between networked nodes is standardised between different manufacturers. The most important institutions for standardisation in this area are the European Telecommunication Standardisation Institute (ETSI), the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and the ITU (International Telecommunications Union) with the subdivision ITU-T focused on wired communication systems and ITU-R for radio communication systems. The ETSI introduced, for example, the GSM standard for wireless telephones (Global System for Mobile Communication) and initiated the mobile broadband communication standard UMTS (Universal Mobile Telecommunication System). In the field of local area networks, the ETSI specified Hiperlan (High Performance LAN) providing data rates up to 2 Mbit/s and Hiperlan/2 (an enhanced version with data rates up to 54 Mbit/s). The IEEE introduced the 802 series of standards which define various kinds of communication networks.


Medium Access Control Multiple Input Multiple Output Distribute Coordination Function Medium Access Control Layer OFDM Symbol 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Vieweg+Teubner Verlag | Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden GmbH 2010

Authors and Affiliations

  • Andreas Könsgen

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations