Dicots and monocots


Angiosperms are currently divided into two major classes: Dicotyledones (dicots), with about 165,000 species, and Monocotyledones (monocots), with approximately 65,000 species. The main differences between plants belonging to one or the other of these classes are summarized in the following table and illustrated in Fig. 10.


Major Class Flower Sepal Leaf Base Secondary Growth Parallel Flower 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Birkhäuser Verlag AG 2008

Personalised recommendations