Oil pollution preparedness in the ROPME Sea Area

  • Abdul Munem Mohamed Al-Janahi


ROPME/MEMAC comprises the eight member states Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and UAE. These countries share the ROPME Sea Area (RSA) and its rich marine resources. The Convention for the establishment of ROPME is the Kuwait Regional Convention for Co-operation on the Protection of the Marine Environment (1979) and it’s Protocol which resulted in the establishment of MEMAC in 1982. The main objectives of MEMAC are: formation of the Regional Contingency Plan, provision of technical assistance to contracting states, report of marine pollution incidents, damage assessment and compensation action, transboundary movement of personnel equipment and materials in case of marine emergencies, exchange of technical information with the member states, assistance in laws and regulations and different international conventions, surveillance of ROPME Sea Area for marine pollution, trajectory modelling and training of national cadres of its member states as well as publication of relevant materials i.e. the “Marine Environment Protection Legislation” which provides legal information of its Member States.


Saudi Arabia Marine Pollution International Convention Contingency Plan Civil Liability 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. Facey, R. 2008. Pollution from sea based sources. In: Abuzinada, A.H., Barth, H.-J., Krupp, F., Böer, B. and Al Abdessalaam, T.Z. (eds), Protecting the Gulf’s marine ecosystems from pollution. Birkhäuser, Switzerland, pp. 163–189.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Birkhäuser Verlag/Switzerland 2008

Authors and Affiliations

  • Abdul Munem Mohamed Al-Janahi
    • 1
  1. 1.Marine Emergency Mutual Aid Centre (MEMAC)Bahrain

Personalised recommendations