The Technical Committee on Fault Tolerant Computing of The IEEE Computer Society

  • Tom Anderson
  • Algirdas Avižienis
  • Jean-Claude Laprie
Conference paper
Part of the Dependable Computing and Fault-Tolerant Systems book series (DEPENDABLECOMP, volume 1)


The origins of this Technical Committee go back to early 1969, when Professor Algirdas Avizienis of the UCLA Computer Science Department proposed to the IEEE Computer Group (IEEE-CG) that a Technical Committee on Fault-Tolerant Computing (TC-FTC) should be formed to promote further activities in this field. The approval of the IEEE-CG Administrative Committee was granted on November 18, 1969. A letter from Computer Group Chairman E. J. McCluskey, dated November 20, 1969, appointed A. Avizienis to serve as the first Chairman of the new TC-FTC and requested him to invite the founding members. The 18 initial members were: A. Avizienis, W. G. Bouricius, W. C. Carter, H. Y. Chang, J. Goldberg, A. L. Hopkins, E. C. Joseph, E. J. McCluskey, E. G. Manning, F. P. Mathur (TC Secretary), G. Metze, C. V. Ramamoorthy, J. P. Roth, R. A. Short, C. V. Srinivasan, S. A. Szygenda, C. Tung, and S. S. Yau. The new TC met for the first time on May 5, 1970 during the Spring Joint Computer Conference in Atlantic City, New Jersey. It was decided at this initial meeting that the first objective of the new TC-FTC was the establishment of a technical conference, since an open conference dedicated to the theory and design of fault-tolerant computers had not been held since the 1962 Symposium on Redundancy Techniques for Computing Systems in Washington, D. C. Co-sponsorship of the proposed conference and strong organizational support was provided by Caltech’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, and the initial International Symposium on Fault-Tolerant Computing took place on March 1–3, 1971 at the Huntington-Sheraton Hotel in Pasadena, California, with Al Avizienis serving as Symposium Chairman, and Bill Carter as Program Chairman.


IEEE Computer Society Fault Tolerant Technical Committee Type Institution Fault Tolerant System 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag/Wien 1987

Authors and Affiliations

  • Tom Anderson
    • 1
  • Algirdas Avižienis
    • 2
  • Jean-Claude Laprie
    • 3
  1. 1.Computing LaboratoryUniversity of Newcastle upon TyneNewcastle upon TyneEngland
  2. 2.Computer Science DepartmentUCLALos AngelesUSA
  3. 3.LAAS-CNRSToulouseFrance

Personalised recommendations