Spin Waves: Magnons

  • Ulrich Rössler
Part of the Advanced Texts in Physics book series (ADTP)


The electron spin, which does not explicitly appear in the N-particle Hamiltonian of the solid (except for the spin-orbit coupling and Zeeman terms), will be in the focus of this chapter. In Chaps. 4 and 5 we have addressed already the relevance of spin in connection with magnetic properties, which shall be studied now in more detail. The issue here will be to consider the interacting electron system with dominating exchange interaction, which leads to a spin-ordered ground state, and to describe elementary excitations out of this ground state: spin waves or (in quantized form) magnons. In several aspects spin dynamics is similar to lattice dynamics (see Chap. 3) with the masses coupled by springs now being replaced with spins (or their magnetic moments) coupled by exchange interaction. Depending on the complexity of the crystal structures on which these spin systems are realized, their spin or magnetic order can be ferromagnetic, anti-ferromagnetic, ferrimagnetic, or anti-ferrimagnetic [151]. Most standard textbooks on Solid State Theory contain a chapter on spin waves or magnons and magnetic properties, but there are also special review articles [152,153] and monographs [106,154–160] on these topics. In solids with disorder, e.g. due to alloying, the magnetic order takes the form of spin glasses [16]. Theoretical concepts developed for spin glasses have turned out to be useful also for neural networks [161].


Spin Wave Spin Susceptibility Commutation Rule Boson Operator Bogoliubov Transformation 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    Werner Heisenberg 1901 – 1976, Nobel prize in physics 1932.Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    Friedrich Hund 1896 – 1997Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    Theodor D. Holstein, 1915 – 1985Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    Henry Primakoff, 1914 – 1983Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    Nikolai Nikolaevich Bogoliubov, 1909 – 1992Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    Pierre Curie 1859 – 1906, shared the Nobe prize in physics 1903 with his wife Marie CurieGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    Louis Néel 1904 – 2000, Nobe prize in physics 1970Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    Pierre Ernest Weiss 1865 – 1940Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    Edmund Clifton Stoner 1889 – 1973Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2004

Authors and Affiliations

  • Ulrich Rössler
    • 1
  1. 1.Institut für Theoretische PhysikUniversität RegensburgRegensburgGermany

Personalised recommendations