• Ulrich Rössler
Part of the Advanced Texts in Physics book series (ADTP)


The advent of quantum mechanics in the early 20th century has fundamentally improved our understanding of the physics of matter in general and of the solid state in particular. Consisting of a very large number of atoms, solids exhibit a rich variety of material properties, whose understanding represents a challenge to the curious scientist. These properties are at the same time a rich source for technical applications. Consequently, in the course of the last century our increasing knowledge about the relationship between chemical composition and the structure of solids on one side and their particular properties — according to which we identify metals, semiconductors, superconductors, and magnetic materials — on the other side, has led to the invention of an enormous variety of solid state devices. Whole industries have been created based on products that make use of solid state properties. Transistors, sensors, solid state lasers, light-emitting diodes (LED), superconducting quantum interference devices (SQUID), dynamic and magnetic random access memories (DRAM and MRAM) have become essential parts of electronic appliances such as computers, mobile phones, compact disc (CD) and digital video disc (DVD) players, which have revolutionized our daily life.


Brillouin Zone Amorphous Solid Digital Video Disc Solid State Theory Magnetic Random Access Memory 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    Sir William Henry Bragg 1862 – 1942, Sir William Lawrence Bragg 1890 – 1971, shared the Nobel prize in physics 1915Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    Eugene Paul Wigner 1902 – 1995, Nobel prize in physics 1963; Frederick Seitz *1911Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    Auguste Bravais 1811 – 1863Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    Léon Brillouin 1889 – 1969Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    Gerd Binnig *1947, Heinrich Rohrer *1933, shared the Nobel prize in physics 1986Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2004

Authors and Affiliations

  • Ulrich Rössler
    • 1
  1. 1.Institut für Theoretische PhysikUniversität RegensburgRegensburgGermany

Personalised recommendations