Electromagnetic Basics

  • Hyo J. Eom


Most basic laws in electromagnetic theory were established in the 19th century by a variety of talented scientists, including Oersted, Ampère, and Faraday. Later, James Clerk Maxwell unified these basic laws into fundamental equations, which macroscopically state the relations between electromagnetic fields and their sources (current and charge). These fundamental equations are called Maxwell’s equations. Let us first consider Maxwell’s equations in a differential equation form.


Helmholtz Equation Poynting Vector Perfect Electric Conductor Tangential Electric Field Lossy Medium 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2004

Authors and Affiliations

  • Hyo J. Eom
    • 1
  1. 1.Korea Advanced Institute of Science and TechnologyDept. of Electrical Engineering and Computer ScienceDaejeonKorea

Personalised recommendations