Picosecond Photoconductivity in Polycrystalline CdTe Films Prepared by UV-Enhanced OMCVD

  • A. M. Johnson
  • D. W. Kisker
  • W. M. Simpson
  • R. D. Feldman
Part of the Springer Series in Electrophysics book series (SSEP, volume 21)


Ultrafast photoconductive detectors are often built from semiconductors possessing a large density of structural defects, which function as effective trapping and recombination centers. One of the earliest demonstrations of this approach was made with high defect density, low mobility amorphous silicon [1,2]. The low carrier mobilities severly limit the sensitivity of amorphous semiconductor devices in most applications. Improvements in the sensitivity over the early devices have been made by using Schottky barriers and novel transmission line configurations in amorphous silicon [3] and by the radiation damage of crystalline semiconductors [4]. Another approach which has not been fully exploited is the use of polycrystalline semiconductors [5,6], which have a large defect density at the grain boundary and a high mobility within the grain. In this work, we have made the first measurements of picosecond photoconductivity in thin films of polycrystalline CdTe grown by photon-assisted Organometallic Chemical Vapor Deposition (OMCVD). Photoconductivity measurements were made on three samples of CdTe, intentionally prepared under different deposition conditions to controllably alter the electronic transport. The fastest of these photodetectors had a carrier relaxation time of 3.7 psec and an average drift mobility of 59 cm2/Vsec.


Transmission Electron Microscopy Bright Field Image CdTe Film Fuse Silica Substrate Photoconductivity Measurement Autocorrelation Measurement 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. [1]
    D. H. Auston, P. Lavallard, N. Sol, and D. Kaplan, Appl. Phys. Lett. 36, 66 (1980).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. [2]
    A. M. Johnson, D. H. Auston, P. R. Smith, J. C. Bean, J. P. Harbison, and A. C. Adams, Phys. Rev. B23, 6816, (1981).Google Scholar
  3. [3]
    A. M. Johnson, A. M. Glass, D. H. Olson, W. M. Simpson, and J. P. Harbison, Appl. Phys. Lett. 44, 450 (1984).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. [4]
    P. R. Smith, D. H. Auston, A. M. Johnson, and W. M. Augustyniak, Appl. Phys. Lett. 38, 47 (1981).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. [5]
    A. P. DeFonzo, Appl. Phys. Lett. 39, 480 (1981).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. [6]
    W. Margulis and W. Sibbett, Appl. Phys. Lett. 42, 975 (1983).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. [7]
    J. B. Mullin, S. J. C. Irvine, and D. J. Ashen, J. Cryst. Growth 55, 92, (1981).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. [8]
    D. W. Kisker and R. D. Feldman, Proc. 2nd International Conference on II–VI Compounds, Aussois, France, 1985. To be published in the J. Cryst. Growth.Google Scholar
  9. [9]
    A. M. Johnson and W. M. Simpson, J. Opt. Soc. Am. B2, 619 (1985).Google Scholar
  10. [10]
    D. H. Auston, A. M. Johnson, P. R. Smith, and J. C. Bean, Appl. Phys. Lett. 37, 371 (1980).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. [11]
    D. H. Auston, IEEE J. Quantum Electron. QE-19, 639, (1983).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. [12]
    D. P. Joshi and R. S. Srivastava, J. Appl. Phys. 56, 2375 (1984).CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 1985

Authors and Affiliations

  • A. M. Johnson
    • 1
  • D. W. Kisker
    • 1
  • W. M. Simpson
    • 1
  • R. D. Feldman
    • 1
  1. 1.AT&T Bell LaboratoriesHolmdelUSA

Personalised recommendations