Ivar Giaever: Single Particle Tunnelling: Confirming the BCS-Theory

  • Kristian Fossheim


Ivar Giaever shared the Nobel Prize in Physics with Leo Esaki and Brian D. Josephson. More precisely: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1973 was divided, one half jointly to Leo Esaki and Ivar Giaever “for their experimental discoveries regarding tunnelling phenomena in semiconductors and superconductors, respectively,” and the other half to Brian David Josephson “for his theoretical predictions of the properties of a supercurrent through a tunnel barrier, in particular those phenomena which are generally known as the Josephson effects.”


Nobel Prize Copper Wire Rennsselear Polytechnic Institute Machine Engineering Norwegian Institute 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


  1. 1.
    R.W. Schmitt, Phys. Today 14(12), 38 (1961) CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2013

Authors and Affiliations

  • Kristian Fossheim
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of PhysicsNorwegian University of Science and TechnologyTrondheimNorway

Personalised recommendations