Multiparty Session and Network Resource Control in the Context Casting (C-CAST) Project

  • Augusto Neto
  • Susana Sargento
  • Evariste Logota
  • Josephine Antoniou
  • Filipe Pinto
Part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science book series (LNCS, volume 5630)


The increasing demand in personalized multimedia group services imposes stringent and heterogeneous requirements, which cannot be satisfactorily addressed through legacy architectures. In future scenarios, context-awareness and multicast will together drive new trends, since situations in which users share the same interests and request similar services can be exploit allowing efficient session/network control. However, context-awareness also introduce challenges, where any change to context, such as, location, mobility, velocity, preferences, presence, can change the overall services and network environments, thus requiring to dynamically restructure network and multicast sessions, which can pose scalability problems. In this paper, we propose an efficient architecture for context-aware multiparty session and network control which adapts to contexts’ and networks’ dynamics and maintains the connectivity with the expected requirements over session lifetime. In addition to dynamic session and network control driven by context, we introduce abstract trees to increase stability of network to any change. The practical scenarios studied in the paper demonstrate that such paradigm tends to be a very essential approach for the future Internet where unpredictable variables make the diverse users Quality of Experience (QoE) harder to satisfy.


Future Internet Multimedia Context Awareness Multiparty Sessions 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    Context Casting (C-CAST) project, EU’s ICT 7th Framework Programme,
  2. 2.
    Neto, A., Cerqueira, E., Rissato, A., Monteiro, E., Mendes, P.: A Resource Reservation Protocol Supporting QoS-aware Multicast Trees for Next Generation Networks. In: 12th IEEE Symposium on Computers and Communications, Aveiro (2008)Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    Stewart, R.: Stream Control Transmission Protocol. IETF, RFC 4960 (2007)Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    Moskowitz, R., Nikander, P.: Host Identity Protocol (HIP) Architecture. IETF, RFC 4423 (2006)Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    Koundourakis, G., Axiotis, D.I., Theologou, M.: Network-based access selection in composite radio environments. In: IEEE Wireless Communications and Networking Conference 2007, Hong Kong (2007)Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    Liu, X., Li, V.O.K., Zhang, P.: NXG04-4: Joint radio resource management through vertical handoffs in 4G networks. In: IEEE Global Telecommunications Conference 2006, San Francisco (2006)Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    Ormond, O., Perry, P., Murphy, J.: Network selection decision in wireless heterogeneous networks. In: IEEE 16th International Symposium on Personal, Indoor and Mobile Radio Communications, Berlin (2005)Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    Taha, A.-E.M., Hassanein, H.S., Mouftah, H.T.: On robust allocation policies in wireless heterogeneous networks. In: First International Conference on Quality of Service in Heterogeneous Wired/Wireless Networks, Dallas (2004)Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    Braden, R., Estrin, D., Berson, S., Herzog, S., Zappala, D.: The Design of the RSVP Protocol. ISI Final Technical Report (1996)Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    Braden, R., Zhang, L., Berson, S., Herzog, S., Jamin, S.: Resource Reservation Protocol (RSVP) – Version 1 Functional Specification. IETF RFC 2205 (1997)Google Scholar
  11. 11.
    Kurokawa, A., Higashi, I.: Standardization Trends of the Next Generation Network in ETSI TISPAN. Journal NTT Technical Review 4(6), 53–57 (2006)Google Scholar
  12. 12.
    Estrin, D., Farinacci, D., Helmy, A., Thaler, D., Deering, S., Handley, M., Jacobson, V., Liu, C., Sharma, P., Wei, L.: Protocol Independent Multicast-Sparse Mode (PIM-SM): Protocol Specification. IETF RFC 2362 (1998)Google Scholar
  13. 13.
    Holbrook, H., Cain, B.: Source-Specific Multicast for IP. IETF RFC 4607 (2006)Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2009

Authors and Affiliations

  • Augusto Neto
    • 1
  • Susana Sargento
    • 1
    • 2
  • Evariste Logota
    • 1
    • 2
  • Josephine Antoniou
    • 3
  • Filipe Pinto
    • 4
  1. 1.Institute of TelecommunicationsAveiroPortugal
  2. 2.University of AveiroPortugal
  3. 3.University of CyprusCyprus
  4. 4.Portugal Telecom Inovação.AveiroPortugal

Personalised recommendations