Historical Background (Or: There Is Nothing New Under the Sun)

Part of the Monographs in Electrochemistry book series (MOEC)


The Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2000, was awarded to Heeger, MacDiarmid and Shirakawa "for the discovery and development of electrically conductive polymers." However, there were several forerunners to these distinguished chemists. The most important representatives of the family of electrically conductive polymers, polyaniline and polypyrrole, were already being prepared by chemical or electrochemical oxidation in the nineteenth century. In fact, the discovery of polyacetylene in the 1970s—which had no practical importance but helped to arouse the interest of researchers and the public alike—was another episode in the history of conducting polymers. The story of polyaniline is described here in detail.

Keywords: History - Polyaniline - Letheby - Runge - Fritzsche - Yasui - Khomutov and Gorbachev - Mohilner, Adams and Argersinger - Buvet - Josefowicz


Conductive Polymer Sulfuric Acid Solution Historical Background Aqueous Sulfuric Acid Aqueous Sulfuric Acid Solution 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    Letheby H (1862) J Chem Soc 15:161CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    Fritzsche J (1840) J Prakt Chem 20:453CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    Goppelsroeder F (1876) CR Acad Sci Paris 82:331Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    Szarvasy E (1900) J Chem Soc 77:207Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    Willstätter R, Dorogi S (1909) Berichte 42:4118Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    Green AG, Woodhead AE (1910) J Chem Soc 97:2388Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    Yasui T (1935) Bull Chem Soc Japan 10:306CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    Khomutov NE, Gorbachev SV (1950) Zh Fiz Khim 24:1101Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    Mohilner DM, Adams RN, Argersinger WJ (1962) J Electrochem Soc 84:3618Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    deSurville R, Josefowicz M, Yu LT, Perichon J, Buvet R (1968) Electrochim Acta 13:1451CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    Dunsch L (1975) J Prakt Chem 317:409CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    Breitenbach M, Heckner KH (1973) Electroanal Chem Interf Chem 43:267CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    Diaz AF, Logan JA (1980) J Electroanal Chem 111:111CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2008

Personalised recommendations