Institutional Design of Regional Economic Communities: A Comparative Analysis

  • Mkhululi Nyathi


This chapter seeks to benchmark SADC against other regional economic integration arrangements. Three organisations have been chosen as comparators: the East African Community (EAC), the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), and the European Union (EU). The EAC and ECOWAS are particularly relevant comparators because of their political and socio-economic similarities with SADC. The choice of the EU on the other hand, the different political and socio-economic underpinnings notwithstanding, is based on the fact that the EU has evolved over time, and so far has the deepest regional integration framework the world over.

Copyright information

© The Author(s) 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Mkhululi Nyathi
    • 1
  1. 1.Independent ResearcherBulawayoZimbabwe

Personalised recommendations