• Mehdi Chowdhury
  • S. Irudaya Rajan


The Gulf, which comprises the six countries of Bahrain, Oman, Qatar, Kuwait, United Arab Emirates, and Saudi Arabia, is one of the major destinations of migrants from all over the world. The group that features the most within the migrant community in the Gulf is the migrants from South Asia (i.e., Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka). Two recent inclusions to this list of countries are Afghanistan and Myanmar. This volume addresses various aspects of the South Asian migration in the Gulf.This chapter introduces the volume and provides a short summary of the contents.

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing AG, part of Springer Nature 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  • Mehdi Chowdhury
    • 1
  • S. Irudaya Rajan
    • 2
  1. 1.Department of Accounting, Finance and Economics, Business SchoolBournemouth UniversityBournemouthUK
  2. 2.Center for Development StudiesThiruvananthapuramIndia

Personalised recommendations