• Mayumi Itoh
Part of the The Palgrave Macmillan Animal Ethics Series book series (PMAES)


This chapter “Introduction” gives a brief overview of the damage caused by the nuclear meltdowns of three of the four reactors at the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Station in the wake of the Great East Japan Earthquake of magnitude 9.0 that struck the Sanriku coastal region of the Pacific Ocean encompassing three prefectures—Iwate, Miyagi, and Fukushima—on March 11, 2011.

Copyright information

© The Author(s) 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  • Mayumi Itoh
    • 1
  1. 1.Independent ScholarPrincetonUSA

Personalised recommendations