Taxonomic Soil Regions

  • James G. Bockheim
  • Alfred E. HarteminkEmail author
Part of the World Soils Book Series book series (WSBS)


Kellogg (1930) divided the state into three broad soil taxonomic regions, including from south to north, the Gray-Brown Forest (Alfisols), Transitional (tension zone), and Podzols (Spodosols) (Fig. 2.9). The soil maps of Wisconsin from 1927 through 1968 (Chap. 2) were based on the associations of soil series. The 1993 map of Madison and Gundlach (Fig. 2.12) was similar to Hole’s 1968 map (Fig. 2.10) except that the legend divided the soils by geographic region.


Soil Series Ground Moraine Soil Region Northern Hardwood Outwash Plain 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing AG 2017

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Department of Soil ScienceUniversity of Wisconsin-MadisonMadisonUSA

Personalised recommendations