Electrochemical Synthesis of p-CuO Thin Films and Development of a p-CuO/n-ZnO Thin Film Hetero-Contact for Gas Sensing

  • Amrita Ghosh
  • Bibhuti Bhusan Show
  • Nillohit Mukherjee
  • Swapan K. Datta
  • Gautam Bhattacharya
  • Anup Mondal
Conference paper
Part of the Environmental Science and Engineering book series (ESE)


Thin films of p-CuO has been synthesized using a simple electrochemical technique (Galvanic deposition) on Indium Tin Oxide (ITO) coated glass substrates and on ZnO/ITO coated glass substrates. The films were characterized using X-ray Diffraction Technique (XRD) and UV–VIS spectroscopy. The surface morphology of the films was studied using FESEM. Measurements of electrical properties of the n-ZnO/p-CuO heterojunction were carried out to understand its suitability for gas sensing application.


Electrochemical deposition Thin film p-type semiconductor n-ZnO/p-CuO heterojunction 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.



This work is supported by IDP, Department of Science and Technology (DST), Govt. of India.


  1. 1.
    Benjamin J. Hansen, Nikolai Kouklin, Ganhua Lu, I-Kuan Lin, Junhong Chen, and Xin Zhang, J. Phys. Chem. C, 114, 2440 (2010).Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    Sathish Reddy, B.E. Kumara Swamy, and H. Jayadevappa, Electrochimica Acta, 61, 78 (2012).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    Mingqing Yang, Junhui He, Xiaochun Hu, Chunxiao Yan, and Zhenxing Cheng, Environ. Sci. Technol., 45, 6088 (2011).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    Y W Zhu, T Yu, F C Cheong, X J Xu, C T Lim, V B C Tan, J T L Thong, and C H Sow, Nanotechnology, 16, 88 (2005).Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    Khadga M. Shrestha, Christopher M. Sorensen, and Kenneth J. Klabunde, J. Phys. Chem. C, 114, 14368, (2010).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    Shuyan Gao, Shuxia Yang, Jie Shu, Shuxia Zhang, Zhengdao Li, and Kai Jiang, J. Phys. Chem. C, 112, 19324, (2008).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    Chia-Ying Chiang, Jillian Epstein, Adam Brown, Jeremy N. unday, James N. Culver, and Sheryl Ehrman, Nano Lett., 12, 6005, (2012).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    w. wang, z. liu, y. Liu, c. Xu, c. zheng, and, Appl. Phys. A 76, 417, (2003).Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    Bin Liu, and Hua Chun Zeng, J. AM. CHEM. SOC., 126, 8124, (2004).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    Mrinmoyee Basu, Arun Kumar Sinha, Mukul Pradhan, Sougata Sarkar, Anjali Pal, and Tarasankar Pal, Chem. Commun., 46, 8785, (2010).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    Feng Zhang, Anwei Zhu, Yongping Luo, Yang Tian, Jinhu Yang, and Yao Qin, J. Phys. Chem. C, 114, 19214, (2010).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    Xiaoqing Wang, Guangcheng Xi, Shenglin Xiong, Yankuan Liu, Baojuan Xi, Weichao Yu, and Yitai Qian, Crystal Growth & Design, 7, 930, (2007).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    Jun Hu, Dongdong Li, Jia G. Lu, and Ruqian Wu, J. Phys. Chem. C, 114, 17120, (2010).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    P Samarasekara, N T R N Kumara, and N U S Yapa, J. Phys.:Condens.Matter, 18, 2417, (2006).Google Scholar
  15. 15.
    J. Morales, L. Sa’nchez, F. Martı′, J.R. Ramos-Barrado, and M. Sa′nchez, Thin Solid Films, 474, 133, (2005).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. 16.
    V. Dhanasekaran, T. Mahalingam, R. Chandramohan, Jin-Koo Rhee, and J.P. Chu, Thin Solid Films, 520, 6608, (2012).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. 17.
    F. Bayansal, S. Kahraman, G. C¸ ankaya, H.A. C¸ etinkara, H.S. Guder, and H.M. C¸ akmak, Journal of Alloys and Compounds, 509, 2094, (2011).Google Scholar
  18. 18.
    Seymen Ayg¨un, and David Cann, Sensors and Actuators B, 106, 837, (2005).Google Scholar
  19. 19.
    Masaru Miyayama, Kazuyasu Hikita, Gakuji Uozumi, and Hiroaki Yanagida, Sensors and Actuators B, 24-25, 383, (1995).Google Scholar
  20. 20.
    N. Mukherjee, S. F. Ahmed, K. K. Chattopadhyay, A. Mondal, Electrochimica Acta, 54, 4015 (2009).CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing Switzerland 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  • Amrita Ghosh
    • 1
  • Bibhuti Bhusan Show
    • 2
  • Nillohit Mukherjee
    • 3
  • Swapan K. Datta
    • 3
  • Gautam Bhattacharya
    • 4
  • Anup Mondal
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of ChemistryBengal Engineering and Science UniversityShibpur, HowrahIndia
  2. 2.Department of ChemistryJadavpur UniversityKolkataIndia
  3. 3.Centre of Excellence for Green Energy and Sensor SystemsBengal Engineering and Science UniversityShibpur, HowrahIndia
  4. 4.Department of PhysicsRKM VidyamandiraBelur, HowrahIndia

Personalised recommendations