Active Optimal Fault-Tolerant Control Method for Multi-fault Concurrent Modular Manipulator Based on Adaptive Dynamic Programming

  • Bing Li
  • Fan Zhou
  • Bo Dong
  • Yucheng Liu
  • Fu Liu
  • Huiqiu Lu
  • Yuanchun LiEmail author
Conference paper
Part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science book series (LNCS, volume 11555)


In this paper, a novel active optimal fault-tolerant control (FTC) scheme is designed based on adaptive dynamic programming (ADP) for modular manipulator when sensor and actuator faults are concurrency. Firstly, the sensor fault is transformed into the pseudo-actuator fault by constructing a nonlinear transformation with diffeomorphism theory. Secondly, the faults estimated by the adaptive fault observer are applied to establish an improved performance index function. Next, the online policy iteration (PI) algorithm is used to solve the Hamilton-Jacobi-Bellman (HJB) equation via establishing a critic neural network. The optimal fault-tolerant controller is proved to be uniformly ultimately bounded (UUB) based on Lyapunov stable theory. Finally, the effectiveness of the proposed multi-fault-tolerant control algorithm is verified by simulation results.


Adaptive dynamic programming Modular manipulators Optimal fault-tolerant control Critic neural network Policy iteration 



This work is supported by the National Natural Science Foundation of China (Grant nos. 61374051, 61773075 and 61703055) and the Scientific Technological Development Plan Project in Jilin Province of China (Grant nos. 20170204067GX, 20160520013JH and 20160414033GH).


  1. 1.
    Paredis, C.: A rapidly deployable manipulator system. Robot. Auton. Syst. 21(3), 289–304 (1997)Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    Niemann, H.: A model-based approach to fault-tolerant control. Int. J. Appl. Math. Comput. Sci. 22(1), 67–86 (2012)Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    Xu, Y., Tong, S., Li, Y.: Adaptive fuzzy fault-tolerant control of static var compensator based on dynamic surface control technique. Nonlinear Dyn. 73(3), 2013–2023 (2013)Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    Yoo, S.J.: Actuator fault detection and adaptive accommodation control of flexible-joint robots. IET Control Theory Appl. 6(10), 1497–1507 (2012)Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    Rotondo, D., Nejjari, F., Puig, V.: A virtual actuator and sensor approach for fault tolerant control of LPV systems. J. Process Control 24(3), 203–222 (2014)Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    Sami, M., Patton, R.J.: Active fault tolerant control for nonlinear systems with simultaneous actuator and sensor faults. Int. J. Control Autom. Syst. 11(6), 1149–1161 (2013)Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    Wang, D., Liu, D.: Policy iteration algorithm for online design of robust control for a class of continuous-time nonlinear systems. IEEE Trans. Autom. Sci. Eng. 11(2), 627–632 (2014)Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    Chang, S., Lee, J.Y.: An online fault tolerant actor-critic neuro-control for a class of nonlinear systems using neural network HJB approach. Int. J. Control Autom. Syst. 13(2), 311–318 (2015)Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    Fan, Q.: Adaptive fault-tolerant control for affine nonlinear systems based on approximate dynamic programming. IET Control Theory Appl. 10(6), 655–663 (2016)Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    Wang, Z., Liu, L., Wu, W., Zhang, H.: Optimal fault-tolerant control for discrete-time nonlinear strict-feedback systems based on adaptive critic design. IEEE Trans. Neural Netw. Learn. Syst. 29(6), 2179–2191 (2018)Google Scholar
  11. 11.
    Zhao, B., Li, Y.: Model-free adaptive dynamic programming based near-optimal decentralized tracking control of reconfigurable manipulators. Int. J. Control Autom. Syst. 16(2), 478–490 (2018)Google Scholar
  12. 12.
    Xia, H., Zhao, B., Zhou, F., Dong, B., Liu, G., Li, Y.: Fault tolerant control for reconfigurable manipulators based on adaptive dynamic programming with an improved performance index function. In: 2016 12th World Congress on Intelligent Control and Automation IEEE (2016)Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Switzerland AG 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Bing Li
    • 1
  • Fan Zhou
    • 1
  • Bo Dong
    • 1
  • Yucheng Liu
    • 1
  • Fu Liu
    • 2
  • Huiqiu Lu
    • 2
  • Yuanchun Li
    • 1
    Email author
  1. 1.Department of Control Science and EngineeringChangchun University of TechnologyChangchunChina
  2. 2.Department of Control Science and EngineeringJilin UniversityChangchunChina

Personalised recommendations