Graduate Fellowship Opportunities for Minorities Most Commonly Discriminated Against in Higher Education

  • Samuel M. Nabrit


The Council of Southern Universities is a group of universities organized in 1952 for the purpose of upgrading the faculties of southern institutions. Its members are Duke University, Emory University, the University of North Carolina, Rice University, the University of Texas, Tulane University, Vanderbilt University, Louisiana State University, and the University of Virginia. The council was funded in its early years by grants from the General Education Board, an organization established by John D. Rockefeller to administer his educational philanthropies. These grants enabled southern universities to gain parity with institutions in other regions with respect to the number of faculty members with doctorate degrees.


Black College Ford Foundation Graduate Fellowship Black Faculty White Institution 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 1977

Authors and Affiliations

  • Samuel M. Nabrit
    • 1
  1. 1.The Southern Fellowship FundAtlantaUSA

Personalised recommendations