The Wechsler Memory Scale and its Revisions

  • Michael D. Franzen
Part of the Critical Issues in Neuropsychology book series (CINP)


The Wechsler Memory Scale consists of seven subtests, which were designed to measure different aspects of memory. It exists in two forms (I and II). The subtests, Personal and Current Information, Orientation, Mental Control, Logical Memory, Digit Span, Visual Reproduction, and Associate Learning comprise a structure that is largely replicated with some changes in the subsequent revisions, the Wechsler Memory Scale-Revised (WMS-R) and the Wechsler Memory Scale-Third Edition (WMS-III). These subtests are scored for the number of correct responses, which are then summed. The summed score is age-corrected and converted to a Memory Quotient, which has a mean of 100.


Verbal Memory Digit Span Closed Head Injury Discriminant Function Analysis Subtest Score 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Michael D. Franzen
    • 1
  1. 1.Allegheny General Hospital and Medical College of Pennsylvania/Hahnemann UniversityPittsburghUSA

Personalised recommendations