On the Understanding of Visual Processing in the Diencephalon

  • Jonathan Stone
Part of the Perspectives in Vision Research book series (PIVR)


The axons of retinal ganglion cells terminate in at least three nuclei of the diencephalon, the lateral geniculate nucleus (LGN) of the thalamus, the pulvinar nucleus of the thalamus, and the suprachiasmatic nucleus of the hypothalamus. Of these, the terminations in the LGN are by far the heaviest and best analyzed; the hypothalamic and pulvinar terminations are much less substantial and even their existence was debated until relatively recently.


Ganglion Cell Visual Cortex Receptive Field Retinal Ganglion Cell Lateral Geniculate Nucleus 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Plenum Press, New York 1983

Authors and Affiliations

  • Jonathan Stone
    • 1
  1. 1.School of AnatomyUniversity of New South WalesSydneyAustralia

Personalised recommendations