Systema Porifera pp 1267-1280 | Cite as

Family Pheronematidae Gray, 1870

  • Konstantin R. Tabachnick
  • Larisa L. Menshenina


Pheronematidae Gray (Hexactinellida: Amphidiscophora) contains six genera: Pheronema; Platylistrum; Poliopogon; Schulzeviella; Semperella and Sericolophus. The family is well differentiated from other Amphidiscophora by the prevalence of pentactines as choanosomal megascleres and usually by the presence of two-toothed anchorate basalia.


Porifera Hexactinellida Amphidiscophora Pheronematidae Pheronema Platylistrum Poliopogon Schulzeviella Semperella Sericolophus 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Kluwer Academic / Plenum Publishers, New York 2002

Authors and Affiliations

  • Konstantin R. Tabachnick
    • 1
  • Larisa L. Menshenina
    • 2
  1. 1.Department of Bottom FaunaInstitute of Oceanology of Academy of Sciences of RussiaMoscowRussia
  2. 2.Department of Biophysics, Physical FacultyMoscow State UniversityMoscowRussia

Personalised recommendations