Chlamydia pp 15-28 | Cite as

The Chlamydiae

  • Pers-Anders Mårdh
  • Jorma Paavonen
  • Mirja Puolakkainen


Chlamydiae are small, gram-negative eubacteria (Weisburg et al., 1986) that grow intracellulary only. Due to their unique developmental cycle, chlamydiae are recognized in their own order, i.e., Chlamydiales. This order consists of one family, Chlamydiaceae, and of one genus, Chlamydia, with two characterized species, C. psittaci and C. trachomatis. The organisms now included in the genus Chlamydia were earlier called Miyagawanella and Bedsonia (Page, 1974; Moulder et al., 1984). For some decades TRIC (trachoma inclusion conjunctivitis) was used as a designation for the non-LGV C. trachomatis organisms. The so-called TWAR chlamydiae may form a new, third species (with the tentative name C. pneumoniae) (Fig. 3). The two established species can be differentiated on the basis of inclusion type and sensitivity to sulfonamides. (C. trachomatis inclusions contain glycogen whereas C. psittaci inclusions do not; C. trachomatis is more susceptible to sulfonamides than C. psittaci.)


Chlamydial Infection Developmental Cycle Elementary Body Major Outer Membrane Protein Reticulate Body 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Plenum Publishing Corporation 1989

Authors and Affiliations

  • Pers-Anders Mårdh
    • 1
  • Jorma Paavonen
    • 2
  • Mirja Puolakkainen
    • 3
  1. 1.Institute of Clinical BacteriologyUniversity of UppsalaUppsalaSweden
  2. 2.Helsinki University Central HospitalHelsinkiFinland
  3. 3.Institute of VirologyUniversity of HelsinkiHelsinkiFinland

Personalised recommendations