Fourier Analysis

  • Arie Feuer
  • Graham C. Goodwin
Part of the Systems & Control: Foundations & Applications book series (SCFA)


The frequency domain plays a central role in our discussion and analysis throughout this book. It is thus appropriate to begin with a treatment of Fourier theory. There are four basic Fourier transforms. These are:
  1. (i)

    Fourier series that map periodic continuous-time functions into sequences in the frequency domain;

  2. (ii)

    continuous-time Fourier transforms that map continuous-time functions into continuous frequency domain functions;

  3. (iii)

    discrete-time Fourier transforms (DTFT) that map time domain sequences into periodic continuous frequency domain functions;

  4. (iv)

    discrete Fourier transforms (DFT) that map periodic sequences in the time domain to periodic sequences in the frequency domain.



Fourier Transform Fourier Analysis Fourier Series Discrete Fourier Transform Digital Signal Processing 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Birkhäuser Boston 1996

Authors and Affiliations

  • Arie Feuer
    • 1
  • Graham C. Goodwin
    • 2
  1. 1.Dept. of Electrical EngineeringTechnion-Israel Institute of TechnologyHaifaIsrael
  2. 2.The University of NewcastleCallaghanAustralia

Personalised recommendations