What Are All These Different Types of Nebulae, and What Details Can I See in Them with My Telescope?

  • Steven R. Coe
Part of the Patrick Moore’s Practical Astronomy Series book series (PATRICKMOORE)


There are five types of cloudy or nebulous objects in the sky: planetary nebulae, emission nebulae, reflection nebulae, dark nebulae and supernova remnants. I will cover the planetaries in the next chapter and discuss the other four types here. Even though all these objects appear as fuzzy and diffuse in the telescope, there are different mechanisms at work among the differing types of nebulae. So, let’s see what makes each type of nebula glow in the dark (except dark nebulae, of course).


White Dwarf Supernova Remnant Planetary Nebula Bright Star Double Star 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag London 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Steven R. Coe

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations