Union of South American Nations (UNASUR)

  • Palgrave Macmillan
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


History. Established in May 2008 in Brazil, it is anticipated that the Union of South American Nations will eventually supersede MERCOSUR and the Andean Community, creating an enlarged customs union with a single market, parliament, secretariat and central bank, based on the European Union structure. UNASUR is the successor body to the now defunct South American Community of Nations (CSN/SACN), founded in 2004. Despite initial problems, progress was made at UNASUR’s fourth Summit in Nov. 2010 culminating in the ‘Georgetown Declaration’, with the attending heads of state and government and foreign ministers highlighting their commitment to working together to achieve a better South America. The Treaty establishing UNASUR became effective on 11 March 2011.


Foreign Minister Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank Andean Community Arbitration Tribunal Development Finance Institution 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© The Editor(s) 2016

Authors and Affiliations

  • Palgrave Macmillan

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations