East African Development Bank (EADB)

  • Palgrave Macmillan
Part of the The Stateman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Established originally under the Treaty for East African Co-operation in 1967 with Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda as signatories, a new Charter for the Bank (with the same signatories) came into force in 1980. Rwanda was admitted as a member in 2008. Under the original Treaty the Bank was confined to the provision of financial and technical assistance for the promotion of industrial development in member states but with the new Charter its remit was broadened to include involvement in agriculture, forestry, tourism, transport and the development of infrastructure.


Egypt Congo Sudan Libya Angola 

Copyright information

© The Editor(s) 2016

Authors and Affiliations

  • Palgrave Macmillan

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations