Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

  • Palgrave Macmillan
Part of the The Stateman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Commonwealth of Independent States, founded on 8 Dec. 1991 in Belarus, is a community of independent states that proclaimed itself the successor to the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) in some aspects of international law and affairs. When negotiations on its founding began in 1990, it sought to embrace all the 15 constituent republics of the USSR at that date. The founding members—Russia, Belarus and Ukraine—were subsequently joined by Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. However, Turkmenistan withdrew as a permanent member in 2005 to become an associate member and Georgia withdrew altogether in 2009.


Nigeria Kazakhstan Azerbaijan Uzbekistan Turkmenistan 

Further Reading

  1. Brzezinski, Z. and Sullivan, P. (eds.) Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States: Documents, Data and Analysis. 1996Google Scholar

Copyright information

© The Editor(s) 2016

Authors and Affiliations

  • Palgrave Macmillan

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations