Economic Co-operation Organization (ECO)

  • Palgrave Macmillan
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Economic Co-operation Organization (ECO) is an intergovernmental regional organization established in 1985 by Iran, Pakistan and Turkey and the successor of the Regional Co-operation for Development (RCD). ECO was expanded in 1992 to include seven new members: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. The organization’s objectives, stipulated in its Charter, the Treaty of İzmir, include the promotion of conditions for sustained economic growth in the region. Transport and communications, trade and investment, and energy are the high priority areas in ECO’s scheme of work although industry, agriculture, health, science and education, drug control and human development are also on the agenda.


Sustained Economic Growth Consultative Committee High Priority Area Provide Policy Advice Colombo Plan 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© The Editor(s) 2016

Authors and Affiliations

  • Palgrave Macmillan

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations