• Daniele Caramani
Part of the The Societies of Europe book series (SOEU)


Sweden controlled the Finnish territories from the twelfth until the nineteenth century. From 1397 until the mid-fifteenth century Sweden was part of the Kalmar Union with Denmark and Norway under the Danish crown. In 1721 Sweden lost south-eastern Karelia with the city of Wiborg to Russia, and in 1808, the entire province of Finland became part of the Tsarist empire of Alexander I after the Swedish defeat in the war against Russia. Denmark, in alliance with Napoleon, was defeated in the battle of Lipsia in 1813 and had to cede Norway to Sweden. Norway gained independence in 1905. The electoral evolution of Finland and Norway is not considered here (see Country Chapters 4 and 13).


Territorial Unit Direct Election Universal Suffrage Christian Democratic Valid Vote 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Daniele Caramani 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Daniele Caramani

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations