South Africa

  • Kirsten Holst Petersen


In 1960 British Prime Minister Harold Macmillan made his wind of change speech, and he was right. The wind of change did sweep across Africa during the next decade, but it stopped short at South Africa. A few weeks later the Sharpville massacre indicated the kind of resistance white South Africa was going to put up against any wind of change, however small. In 1976 black students and school children in Soweto staged an uprising which spread through all South Africa’s townships and was only put down by a show of military force. In 1985 and 1986 the government declared a state of emergency and plunged the country into a situation very close to civil war. Highly significant changes have taken place in the consciousness of the people involved in this fight, and it is in this area of self-definition and strategy-making that South African literature is both a chronicler of chance and an active protagonist.


Sugar Dust Europe Hunt Burial 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. J.M. Coetzee Dusklands (Johannesburg: Raven Press, 1974)Google Scholar
  2. J.M. Coetzee In the Heart of the Country (London: Seeker & Warburg, 1977)Google Scholar
  3. J.M. Coetzee Waiting for the Barbarians (London: Seeker & Warburg, 1980)Google Scholar
  4. J.M. Coetzee Life and Times of Michael K (Johannesburg: Raven Press, 1983)Google Scholar
  5. J.M. Coetzee Foe (London: Seeker & Warburg, 1986).Google Scholar
  6. Bessie Head When Rain Clouds Gather (London: Gollancz, 1969)Google Scholar
  7. Bessie Head Maru (London: Heinemann, 1972)Google Scholar
  8. Bessie Head A Question of Power (London: Heinemann, 1974)Google Scholar
  9. Bessie Head Serowe: Village of Rain Wind (London: Heinemann, 1981)Google Scholar
  10. Bessie Head A Bewitched Crossroad (Johannesburg: Donker, 1984).Google Scholar
  11. Alex La Guma A Walk in the Night (Ibadan: Mbari, 1962)(Reprinted simultaneously by Heinemann, London, and Northwestern University Press, Evanston, Illinois, as A Walk in the Night and Other Stories, 1967)Google Scholar
  12. Alex La Guma And a Threefold Cord (Berlin: Seven Seas, 1964)Google Scholar
  13. Alex La Guma The Stone Country (Berlin: Seven Seas, 1967)(Reprinted in Heinemann’s African Series, 1974)Google Scholar
  14. Alex La Guma In the Fog of the Season’s End (London: Heinemann, 1972)Google Scholar
  15. Alex La Guma Time of the Butcherbird (London: Heinemann, 1979).Google Scholar
  16. Nadine Gordimer The Lying Days (London: Gollancz, 1953)Google Scholar
  17. Nadine Gordimer A World of Strangers (London: Gollancz, 1958)Google Scholar
  18. Nadine Gordimer Occasion for Loving (London: Gollancz, 1963)Google Scholar
  19. Nadine Gordimer The Late Bourgeois World (London: Gollancz, 1966)Google Scholar
  20. Nadine Gordimer The Conservationist (London: Jonathan Cape, 1974)Google Scholar
  21. Nadine Gordimer Burger’s Daughter (London: Jonathan Cape, 1979)Google Scholar
  22. Nadine Gordimer July’s People (London: Jonathan Cape, 1981)Google Scholar
  23. Nadine Gordimer A Sport of Nature (London: Jonathan Cape, 1987).Google Scholar
  24. Njabulo Ndebele Fools and Other Stories (London: Longman, 1985).Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Kirsten Holst Petersen

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations