What Makes the Gulf States Endure?

  • J. E. Peterson


What has been—and, for that matter, will continue to be—the path followed by the Gulf monarchies, and why has it been so successful? That is the key question that drives any consideration of the strength and durability of the six states that make up the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC): Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), and Oman. Ironically, many observers have long regarded the Gulf states as anachronisms, propped up only by oil money and overdue to disappear into the dustbin of history at any time. Yet, the Gulf states not only have survived, they have endured and prospered. Why is this the case?


Saudi Arabia Arab World Gulf Cooperation Council Ruling Family Gulf State 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Joseph A. Kechichian 2001

Authors and Affiliations

  • J. E. Peterson

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations