Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

  • Nick Heath-Brown
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Commonwealth of Independent States, founded on 8 Dec. 1991 in Belarus, is a community of independent states that proclaimed itself the successor to the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) in some aspects of international law and affairs. The founding members—Russia, Belarus and Ukraine—were subsequently joined by Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. However, Turkmenistan withdrew as a permanent member in 2005 to become an associate member and Georgia withdrew altogether in 2009.


International Criminal Court International Criminal Commonwealth Parliamentary South Sandwich Island Commonwealth Secretariat 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Further Reading

  1. Brzezinski, Z. and Sullivan, P. (eds.) Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States: Documents, Data and Analysis. 1996Google Scholar

Copyright information

© The Editor(s) 2015

Authors and Affiliations

  • Nick Heath-Brown

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations