South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation (SAARC)

  • Nick Heath-Brown
Part of the The Stateman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


SAARC was established to accelerate the process of economic and social development in member states. The foreign ministers of the seven member countries met for the first time in New Delhi in Aug. 1983 and adopted the Declaration on South Asian Regional Co-operation whereby an Integrated Programme of Action (IP A) was launched. The charter establishing SAARC was adopted at the first summit meeting in Dhaka in Dec. 1985.


Turkey Eurasia Kazakhstan Uzbekistan 

Copyright information

© The Editor(s) 2015

Authors and Affiliations

  • Nick Heath-Brown

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations