Legal Method pp 191-195 | Cite as

Does the High Court Bind Itself?

  • Ian McLeod
Part of the Macmillan Law Masters book series


As we saw in Chapter 3, the High Court has three types of jurisdiction, namely first instance, appellate and supervisory. This classification becomes relevant again in the context of the doctrine of precedent because the High Court’s attitude to its own decisions will depend to some extent on the jurisdiction which is being exercised. The various jurisdictions will now be considered in turn.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Thomas Ian McLeod 1996

Authors and Affiliations

  • Ian McLeod
    • 1
  1. 1.London Guildhall UniversityUK

Personalised recommendations