The model of nursing and the nursing process

  • Charleen Newton
Part of the Nursing Models in Action Series book series (NMAS)


In this chapter and the next, the Roper-Logan-Tierney model of nursing is described in detail, including the original development, the key concepts of its philosophy, the five components of the model, the extent to which it reflects a theoretical base, and the way in which it may be put into practice within the framework of the nursing process.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. Colledge, M. M. and Jones, D. (eds) 1979. Readings in Nursing. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingstone.Google Scholar
  2. Henderson, V. 1969. Basic Principles of Nursing Care. New York: Macmillan.Google Scholar
  3. Maslow, A. H. 1954. Motivation and Personality. New York: Harper & Row.Google Scholar
  4. Roper, N. 1973. Principles of Nursing. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingstone.Google Scholar
  5. Roper, N. 1976. Clinical Experience in Nurse Education. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingstone.Google Scholar
  6. Roper, N. 1979. Nursing based on a model for living. In Colledge and Jones 1979.Google Scholar
  7. Roper, N., Logan, W. and Tierney, A. 1985. The Elements of Nursing, 2nd. edn. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingstone.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Charleen Newton 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Charleen Newton
    • 1
  1. 1.Research & Development DepartmentRoyal Hampshire County HospitalWinchesterUK

Personalised recommendations