Ellmann’s Yeats: A Bibliography

  • Mark Osteen
Part of the Yeats Annual book series (YA)


Richard Ellmann’s Yeats is an artist constantly defining and redefining both his beliefs and his poetry. Ellmann described the stages in Yeats’s career with admirable clarity and intelligence in his two early books Yeats: The Man and the Masks (1948) and The Identity of Yeats (1954). Like their subject, Ellmann’s writings on Yeats pass through several stages, as they span the nearly forty years from 1947, when he wrote his doctoral dissertation, to 1986, when he published his book Four Dubliners. He moves from a detailed consideration of Yeats’s life and consciousness in his first book, to acute analysis of his poetry in the second, to discussion of his relationships with other writers in Eminent Domain, and finally to a poignant treatment of his old age and late works in W. B. Yeats’s Second Puberty.


Eminent Domain Critical Essay Photograph Courtesy York Time Book Review Time Literary Supplement 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Wawick Gould 1990

Authors and Affiliations

  • Mark Osteen

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations