Britain and the European Community

  • S. G. Richards


Following the passing by Parliament of the European Communities Act in October 1972, Britain became a member of the European Community on 1 January 1973, having signed the Treaty of Accession in January 1972. Together with Denmark and the Republic of Ireland she joined the original six countries — France, West Germany, Italy, Belgium, Holland and Luxembourg — to form part of the Community of 250,000,000 people. On 1 January 1981 Greece was admitted.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. M. Hodges (ed.), European Integration: Selected Readings (Harmondsworth: Penguin, 1972)Google Scholar
  2. R. Jackson and J. Fitzmaurice, The European Parliament (Harmondsworth: Penguin, 1979).Google Scholar

Copyright information

© S.G. Richards 1984

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. G. Richards
    • 1
  1. 1.Hammersmith and West London CollegeUK

Personalised recommendations