National Economic Information Systems for Developed Economies

  • Otto Eckstein
Part of the International Economic Association Series book series (IEA)


A National Economic Information System (NEIS) is defined as having five elements: (I) computer systems; (2) a communications network; (3) software; (4) databanks; and (5) econometric models. The characteristics of each element are discussed, and the contributions of such systems to the various types of centres of economic analysis are indicated. It is concluded that timesharing computer technology does have particular benefits for economic analysis.


Europe Covariance Income Marketing Assure 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© International Economic Association 1977

Authors and Affiliations

  • Otto Eckstein
    • 1
  1. 1.Harvard UniversityUSA

Personalised recommendations