Trade Unions

  • John Paxton


There is no trade union organisation with a membership consisting solely of E.E.C. member-states but in February 1973 the European Trade Union Confederation was formed by trade unionists in fifteen Western European countries to deal with questions of interest to European working people arising inside and outside the E.E.C. All the founding organisations were I.C.F.T.U. affiliates but subsequently they accepted into membership European W.C.L. affiliates, the Irish Congress of Trade Unions and the Italian Communist trade union centre (C.G.I.L.). The membership in 1975 exceeds 36 million from thirty centres in seventeen countries. Membership consisted of the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Britain, Denmark, Finland, France, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and West Germany.


Trade Union Public Authority Executive Committee National Legislation Western European Country 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Some Suggestions for Further Reading

  1. Beever, R. C., European Unity and the Trade Union Movement (Leyden, 1960).Google Scholar
  2. Kendall, W., and Marx, E., Unions in Europe (London, 1972).Google Scholar
  3. Williams, M., Directory of Unions in the European Economic Community (London, 1974).Google Scholar

Copyright information

© John Paxton and Mrs L. Walsh 1976

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton
    • 1
  1. 1.Bruton, SomersetUK

Personalised recommendations