T. S. Eliot’s Four Quartets: Disturbing the Dust

  • A. E. Dyson


I propose to write on ‘Burnt Norton’ as the separate, and complete, poem which it was when Eliot wrote it (1935). Later it became part of the famous longer work, closely modelled on it, where it now also forms part of another organic whole. The evolution of Four Quartets is itself part of its radically exploratory nature, to which ‘Burnt Norton’ fitly sets the mood.


Final Movement Opening Reflection Eternal Life Dark Time Fourth Movement 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© A. E. Dyson 1981

Authors and Affiliations

  • A. E. Dyson

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations