International money

  • P. J. Sidey
Part of the The Nation Today book series (NATO)


The 175 1/2 million population European Economic Community (E.E.C.), or Common Market, is at present in a lot of trouble. The six partners: France, West Germany, Italy, Belgium, Holland, and Luxembourg, have to be unanimous about moves towards integration, but the Treaty of Rome (which established the Community in 1957) sees the organisation turning into a unitary block in which decisions are taken by democratic voting (though in fact ‘weighted’ in favour of the bigger countries) with the ‘losers’ agreeing to the will of the majority. President de Gaulle, with his concept of the greatness of nationality, and especially French nationality, will not agree and so maintains what is in effect a power of veto over further progress towards integration.


International Trade International Monetary Fund European Economic Community International Bank Political Union 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© P. J. Sidey 1967

Authors and Affiliations

  • P. J. Sidey

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations