The Countess Cathleen

  • Russell K. Alspach


The Countess Cathleen was the most complex of the plays to collate intelligibly, for Yeats changed it more than he did any of the others. In the first version, for instance, it had five scenes, in the next seven versions it had four acts, in the ninth version it became five scenes again—with an entirely new Scene IV—and remained so through the final version. The love scene between the Countess and Aleel at the beginning of Scene III was not inserted until the fourth printing.


Stringed Instrument Carrion Crow Peasant Woman Ancient Home Young Wolf 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Russell K. Alspach and Bertha Georgie Yeats 1966

Authors and Affiliations

  • Russell K. Alspach
    • 1
  1. 1.United States Military AcademyUSA

Personalised recommendations