Peirce’s Categories and His Theory of Signs

  • A. J. Ayer


Just as Peirce distinguishes three fundamentally different kinds of reasoning, so he believes that there are three fundamental categories. He calls them respectively : Firstness, Secondness and Thirdness and refers to them sometimes as Modes of Being and sometimes as Ideas.


Conventional Sign Dynamical Object Natural Sign Existential Quantifier Indexical Sign 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© A. J. Ayer 1968

Authors and Affiliations

  • A. J. Ayer
    • 1
  1. 1.University of OxfordOxfordUK

Personalised recommendations