Evolution of the Central Bank of Nigeria

  • Yomi Makanjuola
Part of the Palgrave Macmillan Studies in Banking and Financial Institutions book series (SBFI)


Tellingly, Italy’s unenviable record of sixty-one governments since the end of World War II is incongruent with the parallel appointment of only eight Central Bank (Banca d’Italia) governors in almost seven decades.1 Aside from perennial Prime Minister, the late Guilio Andreotti, and perhaps Silvio Berlusconi, the vast majority of Italy’s past leaders are faded shadowy figures. By coincidence, the United States of America also had eight chairmen of the board of governors of the Federal Reserve System during that period, including Marriner S. Eccles, whose tenure straddled 1945. Comparatively, Nigeria, not exactly a paragon of democratic governance, has had eleven Central Bank governors2 since independence in 1960, including the last foreigner, Roy R. Fenton, who left office in 1963.


Interest Rate Corporate Governance Monetary Policy International Monetary Fund Commercial Bank 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Yomi Makanjuola 2015

Authors and Affiliations

  • Yomi Makanjuola
    • 1
  1. 1.Freelance Business ConsultantLagosNigeria

Personalised recommendations