The Twilight Zone of the Solar System

  • Gerald North


The only planets known before the invention of the telescope were Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. For centuries scholars thought that the Solar System consisted of just these five planets plus the Earth, the Sun and the Moon. Then, in 1781, the academic world received a rude shock when an amateur astronomer discovered another planet with his home-made reflecting telescope!


Solar System Rotation Period South Pole Hubble Space Telescope Twilight Zone 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag London 2003

Authors and Affiliations

  • Gerald North

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations