The first colonists arrived in Australia in 1788 with the establishment of the convict colony of New South Wales. Subsequently other areas of Australia were to become colonies, with some like Van Dieman's Land and Queensland beginning as penal colonies, while others such as Western Australia and South Australia established as free colonies without a resident convict population, although Western Australia later became a penal colony to survive. Each colony had a different history and they were not to join together under a federal Parliament until 1901. Consequently for this study two colonies, South Australia and Van Diemen's Land, were chosen as they reflect fundamental variations in Australia's past. South Australia was unique amongst the other colonies in Australia as its foundation was based on a plan of colonization developed by private individuals rather than the English Colonial Office. South Australia was not a penal colony, unlike Van Dieman's Land (Tasmania) which had a predominantly convict population for many decades.


Ground Floor Main Building Single Room Penal Colony Dine Room 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Science + Business Media, LLC 2007

Personalised recommendations