Cerebral Cortex Functional Localization

The cerebrum is the largest part of the brain and consists of the cerebral cortex and basal ganglia. The cerebral cortex consists of four lobes: the anteriorly placed frontal lobe, the parietal lobe in the middle, and the occipital lobe posteriorly with the inferiorly placed temporal lobe. The cortical neurons are found on the surface of the cerebrum covering the cortical white matter. Deep in the white matter is found the basal ganglia, which will be discussed in the motor system.


Cerebral Cortex Pyramidal Cell Apical Dendrite Inferior Temporal Gyrus Anatomical Consideration 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC 2008

Personalised recommendations