Neurocytology: Cells of the CNS

There are two major cell types that form the nervous system: supporting cells and conducting cells. The supporting cells of the peripheral nervous system consist of Schwann cells, fibroblasts, and satellite cells; the supporting cells in the central nervous system consist of the glia and the lining cells of the ventricles the ependyma (the meningeal coverings of the brain, the circulating blood cells, and the endothelial lining cells of the blood vessels). The conducting cells, or neurons, form the circuitry within the brain and spinal cord and their axons can be as short as a few microns or as long as 1 meter. The supporting cells are constantly being replaced, but the majority of conducting cells/neurons, once formed, remain throughout our life.


Schwann Cell Satellite Cell Peripheral Nervous System Myelin Sheath Supporting Cell 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC 2008

Personalised recommendations